Garrett's BIG 3 0


Thursday April 7, 2011

A HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY FROM ALL OF US TO YOU, WE WISH IT WAS OUR BIRTHDY SO WE COULD PARTY TOO!
A HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MAY ALL YOUR DREAMS COME TRUE, WE WISH IT WAS OUR BIRTHDY SO WE COULD PARTY TOO!!!


Turning 30 is a BIG thing and should therefore be celebrated in a BIG way - Ylva B Blom

The BIG started around 6.45 in the morning when I rang every door bell in Garrett's apartment building except his own. After few minutes a fairly angry woman stepped out of her apartment and opened the front door. There I was, standing with a BIG smile on my face and a BIG sandwich cake (smörgåstårta - hemmagjord ska nämnas) in my arms. The fairly angry woman was standing blocking the door, asking what the hell I was doing. With my BIG smile I replied
- It's my friend's birthday. It's a surpise, so I couldn't ring his bell!
- You are not supposed to do that, she replied even angrier, still blocking the door.
- THANK YOU!! I shouted with my even BIGger smile as I sneaked past her and ran up the stairs.

I knocked on the door - silence. I knocked harder and finally I heard mumbling and someone slowly, No! Veery slowly moving towards the door. I put my finger in front of the peak hole. I heard how he (a very tired Garrett) stopped and leaned forward to look through the peak hole. A BIG sigh came from the other side when he could see nothing except a pink finger. A moment of hesitation, then he slowly opened the door. BIG mistake! In came a jumping, singing swede with a very very BIG smile on her face. Garrett stood speechless as i hugged him, wished him happy birthday and said
- We're here to celebrate you!!
- Who's we??!
- Råmeå and I!! I replied as I pulled Råmeå out of my bag.
BIG BIG sigh!

Garrett started stuttering and wandering around the apartment. Eventually he went in to the bathroom and locked the door. Moment of silence. After a few minutes he came out, looking sliiightly less tired and said
- Ok! Let's do this! . . . What is that?
- A sandwich cake! I made it! I was going to make you a real cake but since you're clearly not that fond of birthday cake (he barely touched the cake on my birthday) and it's quite early in the morning, I thought this is much better!
- . . . . . . fine. What do you want to drink?
- What do you mean?
Garrett looked up and saw the BIG bottle of pink champagne standing in front of him. Another silence, another BIIG sigh, then he softly replied
- I . . . I will need some water to get that down.







Did you really think it was over already? Oh no!! When Garrett came home from work this beautiful sign was awaiting, in the intersection of were our streets meet ; )

(A BIG thank you to Vicky who helped me get it up . . . and then left me hanging there 2 meters up in the air)

    

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0